The Myrna F. Bernath Fellowship

The Myrna F. Bernath Fellowship was established by the Bernath family to promote scholarship in U.S. foreign relations history by women. The Myrna Bernath Fellowship of up to $2,500 is intended to defray the costs of scholarly research by women. It is awarded biannually (in odd years) and announced at the SHAFR luncheon held during the annual meeting of the American Historical Association. Applications are welcomed from women at U.S. universities as well as women abroad who wish to do research in the United States. Preference will be given to graduate students and those within five years of completion of their PhDs.  Membership in SHAFR is required.

Procedures: Self-nominations are expected. To apply, please read through the Instructions Sheet and then use the online application, which appears when applications are being accepted.  Questions can be sent by electronic mail to [email protected] The biannual deadline for applications is October 15 of even years.


Within eight months of receiving the award, each successful applicant must file with the SHAFR Business Office a brief report on how the funds were spent. Such reports will be considered for publication in Passport.

Recent Winners:

  • 2017 Amanda Demmer
  • 2015 Hannah Waits
  • 2013 Talya Zemach-Bersin
  • 2011 Theresa Keeley
  • 2009 Jessica Johnson
  • 2007 Lisa Covert
  • 2005 Jennifer Heckard
  • 2003 Bethany Moreton
  • 2001 Mary Montgomery
  • 1999 Alexandra M. Friedrich
  • 1997 Deborah Kisatsky; Mary Elise Sarotte
  • 1994 Regina Gramer; Jaclyn Stanke; Christine Skwiot
  • 1992 Shannon Smith