

American Society of International Law

OFFICERS **Gregory Shaffer** President Christopher Greenwood Honorary President Michael D. Cooper Executive Vice President Anna Spain Bradley James Thuo Gathii Mélida N. Hodgson Catherine Powell Vice Presidents James A.R. Nafziger Secretary Nancy L. Perkins Treasurer Ronald J. Bettauer Assistant Treasurer Susan L. Karamanian Audit Committee Chair Catherine Amirfar Lucinda A. Low Sean D. Murnhy Honorary Vice Presidents

EXECUTIVE COUNCIL Memhers Olabisi D. Akinkugbe Syed Arif Hyder Ali Simon N. Batifort David M. Bigge Jay Butler Melissa J. (MJ) Durkee **Christie Edwards** Nienke Grossman Kathleen Helen Hooke Neha Jain Darin Edward-Wesley Johnson Aloysius (Louie) Llamzon Pedro J. Martinez-Fraga David H. Moore Tafadzwa Pasipanodya Patrick W. Pearsall Mark A. Pollack Rafael A. Porrata-Doria, Jr. Sonia E. Rolland Theresa (Tracy) Roosevelt Álvaro Santos Frédéric Gilles Sourgens Milena Sterio Nawi Ukabiala

COLINSFILORS Diane Marie Amann Laurence Boisson de Chazournes Nicola Bonucci Frits E. Bontekoe Karen R. Bravo John R. Crook Timothy L. Dickinson Brian Egan Meg Kinnear Natalie Y. Morris-Sharma Eruch (Elchi) Nowrojee Stephen W. Preston Balakrishnan Rajagopal Java Ramii-Nogales Steven R. Ratner Natalie Reid Victoria Shannon Sahani Dan Sarooshi Michael P. Scharf David L. Sloss Edward T. Swaine Bruce C. Swartz Xue Hangin

PAST PRESIDENTS
José E. Alvarez
Catherine Amirfar
Charles N. Brower
James H. Carter
Lori Fisler Damrosch
Donald Francis Donovan
Lucinda A. Low
Sean D. Murphy
Lucy F. Reed
Arthur W. Rovine
Anne-Marie Slaughter
Peter D. Trooboff
Edith Brown Weiss

Dear Colleagues,

We invite you to join us for the 117th Annual Meeting of the American Society of International Law in Washington, D.C. on March 29-31. The ASIL Annual Meeting is one of the largest and most distinguished gatherings of international practitioners, scholars, jurists, policy experts, and diplomats in the world.

This year's theme, "The Reach and Limits of International Law to Solve Today's Challenges," will reflect on international law's function, utility, relevance, and ability to provide solutions in a complex and changing world. The program offers over 45 hours of substantive sessions, including keynotes and plenaries, as well as receptions and other social activities, and an entire program track dedicated to professional development.

Highlights of the meeting will include:

- More than 45 substantive sessions
- Dozens of special sessions, side events, and interest group meetings
- 30+ hours of social, networking, mentoring, and career development activities, including dedicated content for both in-person and virtual attendees
- More than 200 speakers from around the world

Keynote sessions and named lectures featuring prominent figures in international law, including:

- Grotius Lecture: Kim Lane Scheppele (Princeton University) and Distinguished Grotius Discussant, Manuel José Cepeda Espinosa (High Level Panel of Legal Experts on Media Freedom)
- Manley O. Hudson Medal Lecture: Antony Anghie (National University of Singapore)
- Goler T. Butcher Medal Lecture: Patricia Viseur Sellers (Office of the Prosecutor, ICC)
- Charles N. Brower Lecture: Sir Christopher Greenwood (Iran-U.S. Claims Tribunal)
- Prominent Woman in International Law Award Program: Gillian Triggs (Office of the U.N. High Commissioner for Refugees)

All persons who wish to register for the 2023 ASIL Annual Meeting, including speakers, attendees, exhibitors, staff, guests, and vendors, will be required to provide proof that they are **fully vaccinated**. You must attest to your vaccination status during registration. In addition, you may be asked to provide proof of vaccination at check-in. Such proof may be in the form of a paper or digital vaccination card.

The program, schedule, and details on registration and accommodations are available at www.asil.org/AM.

For further information, contact the ASIL Member Services team at services@asil.org.

We look forward to seeing you!

Sincerely,

American Society of International Law